The China Local Railway Association is a national first-level industry association, established in 1984. The association is registered with the Ministry of Civil Affairs and receives business guidance from the National Development and Reform Commission, the Ministry of Transport, the National Railway Administration, and the China State Railway Group Co., Ltd.

The chairman unit of the association is from the China State Railway Group Co., Ltd. The current president is Huang Min, a member of the Party Group and Deputy General Manager of the China State Railway Group Co., Ltd., and the Secretary-General is Zheng Mingli (legal representative).

The association currently has nearly 300 member units, including provincial and municipal railway investment companies, China State Railway, local railway passenger and freight transport enterprises, joint ventures between local and national railways, other railway enterprises invested by social capital, enterprises owning private railways and dedicated railway lines, and entities related to the railway industry chain, such as railway design consulting, construction, logistics real estate, equipment manufacturing, scientific research, and education.


The China Council for the Promotion of International Trade (CCPIT) Shanghai, established in 1956, serves as an important window for Shanghai’s foreign exchanges. Under the leadership of the CPC Shanghai, the Municipal Government, and the China Council for the Promotion of International Trade, its purpose is to promote trade, investment, and economic and technical cooperation between Shanghai and countries and regions around the world, enhance mutual understanding and friendship, and provide services in international liaison, conference and exhibition, trade consultation, legal arbitration, and information exchange. It also undertakes relevant business entrusted by government departments, playing a unique role as a “civil economic ambassador”. Since 2018, CCPIT-Shanghai has been fully involved in the China International Import Expo.

Shanghai Shentong Metro Group Co., Ltd. is a large state-owned enterprise group integrating investment, construction, and operation management of rail transit. It is the responsible entity for the investment, construction, and operation of Shanghai’s rail transit.

After rapid development in recent years, Shanghai currently has 20 operational lines (including the maglev line), with a total length of 831 kilometers and 508 stations, ranking among the top in the world’s urban rail networks. The average daily passenger flow of the entire Shanghai rail transit network exceeds 10 million, accounting for more than 73% of the city’s public transportation trips, with the highest single-day passenger flow exceeding 13.2935 million. It has become the backbone of Shanghai’s urban public transportation.

The company deeply implements the important concept of “the people’s city is built by the people, for the people”, and will continuously form core competitive capabilities and scale operation advantages in five major areas: investment, construction, operation, resource development, and professional consulting. It aims to promote the sustainable development of Shanghai’s rail transit and become a public service enterprise with “domestic leading and international first-class” integrated capabilities in urban rail transit.

Shanghai Transportation Trade Association (STTA) was registered and approved by the Shanghai Civil Affairs Bureau on April 22, 1985. It is a non-profit social organization formed voluntarily by transportation enterprises and institutions in the city, spanning departments and ownership forms, and practicing industry services and self-discipline.

Shanghai Transportation Trade Association adheres to serving as its purpose, acting as a bridge and bond, and guided by social and industry needs. Backed by the government and facing its members and the industry, it promotes the healthy and sustainable development of the association and builds a top-class industry association with cohesion, influence, and credibility.

The association has a board of directors and a supervisory board. The board of directors has had seven terms, with Ren Jishan, former Secretary of the CPC Committee of the Shanghai Railway Bureau, serving as the president (legal representative), Zhou Huai, former inspector of the Shanghai Municipal Transportation Commission, as the executive vice-president and secretary-general, and Fan Zhiwei, former Deputy Secretary of the CPC Shanghai Urban and Rural Construction and Transportation Committee, as the secretary of the party committee and chairman of the supervisory board.

The association has 1,296 member units, including 26 president and vice-president units, 73 executive director units, and 112 director units. It has 19 branches, including International Container Yard (Warehouse) Branch, Logistics (Network Freight Transport) Branch, Container Road Transport Branch, New Energy and Emission Reduction Branch, RV Camping and Self-Driving Car Branch, Rail Transit Professional Committee, Modern Tram (Medium Capacity Transport) Professional Committee, Port and Shipping Transport Professional Committee, Traffic Safety Work Committee, Vocational Education and Quality Work Committee, Technical Standards and Intelligent Transportation Work Committee, Multimodal Transport Branch, Transportation Facilities Branch, Urban Railway Branch, Airport Area Branch, Satellite Positioning Supervision Transport Branch, Public Transport Branch, Engineering Construction Transport Branch, and an Advertising Committee (in preparation).